ABFriday: Girl in White Dress

After cropping I used Sagelight’s median filter to blur and blend the background.  Then the clone tool to adjust placement of some of the lights and darks.  Then a plug-in filter, super smooth, brought the background to where I wanted it.  For the girl, just a bit of enhancing on the detail before adding a soft focus – seems odd perhaps but I find that enhancing the detail before softening the focus means I don’t lose more detail than I want to.  I went into Paint to fix some of the colour aberrations that I found distracting.

Lynne Ayers after week 48

Lynne Ayers after week 48

This is the original image.

Lynne Ayers before week 48

Stacy hosts the After Before Friday challenge at Visual Venturing.

11 thoughts on “ABFriday: Girl in White Dress

  1. Simply an amazing transformation that seems to suit the subject better than the original image does. This is straight out of a museum by one of the old masters. Renoir? Degas? I don’t know. I just know that I love what you’ve done. Lynne, you are amazing. I loved your work before but now? Now I have to come up with something more to explain how I feel.

  2. Unbelievable, Lynne! Such an incredible transformation. The girl just seems to pop right off the page, as if there’s a touch of 3D, and that’s a result of all your creative choices. Fun, fun, fun 🙂

  3. Really nice, painterly look to this image. Amazing what you have done when you compare it to the before image. I think that I would have been tempted to chop a bit off the left hand side to place the girl in a less central position, but I love what you did to the image as a whole, the swish of colours coming from the girl’s hand is a lovely touch too.

Leave a Reply

